Sat. Jun 22nd, 2024

Official SASSA Payment Schedule 2024, Month Wise Payout Calendar Available

Introduction

The South African Social Security Agency (SASSA) has unveiled the payment dates for various social grants throughout 2024. This announcement provides beneficiaries, including the elderly, persons with disabilities, and disadvantaged children, with the opportunity to effectively plan their finances.

SASSA Older Persons Grant for May 2024

Purpose of Social Grants

Social grants play a crucial role in alleviating poverty and supporting the fundamental needs of South Africa’s most vulnerable populations. By distributing payments in the first week of each month, SASSA ensures a streamlined process for Older Persons Grants, Disability Grants, and Children’s Grants.

Types of Social Grants and Their Objectives

Older Persons Grants: Designed to offer financial assistance to senior citizens, enabling them to meet their basic needs independently.

Disability Grants: Aimed at individuals unable to work due to disability, providing financial support to cover living expenses.

Children’s Grants: Focused on promoting the well-being of children by contributing towards essential expenses such as food, education, and general care.

Exploring the Top 5 Highest-Paying SASSA Grants of 2024

All Month-Wise SASSA Payment Dates for 2024

Beneficiaries can expect payments according to the following schedule:

May: Friday, 3 May (Older Persons Grants), Monday, 6 May (Disability Grants), Tuesday, 7 May (Children’s Grants)

June: Tuesday, 4 June (Older Persons Grants), Wednesday, 5 June (Disability Grants), Thursday, 6 June (Children’s Grants)

July: Tuesday, 2 July (Older Persons Grants), Wednesday, 3 July (Disability Grants), Thursday, 4 July (Children’s Grants)

August: Friday, 2 August (Older Persons Grants), Monday, 5 August (Disability Grants), Tuesday, 6 August (Children’s Grants)

September: Tuesday, 3 September (Older Persons Grants), Wednesday, 4 September (Disability Grants), Thursday, 5 September (Children’s Grants)

October: Wednesday, 2 October (Older Persons Grants), Thursday, 3 October (Disability Grants), Friday, 4 October (Children’s Grants)

November: Tuesday, 5 November (Older Persons Grants), Wednesday, 6 November (Disability Grants), Thursday, 7 November (Children’s Grants)

December: Tuesday, 3 December (Older Persons Grants), Wednesday, 4 December (Disability Grants), Thursday, 5 December (Children’s Grants)

Exploring the Changes to SASSA SRD Grant in 2024

SASSA Grants Increases for 2024

In response to inflation and the rising cost of living, Finance Minister Enoch Godongwana announced increases to permanent social grants as part of the 2024 Budget Speech:

Old age, war veterans, disability, and care dependency grants will increase by R100, implemented in two stages.

The foster care grant will see a R50 increase.

A R20 increase is allocated for the child support grant.

The social relief of distress grant might see an R20 or 5.7% increase soon.

How to Check Your R370 Sassa Grant Status with a Sassa Status Check

Contact Information for Queries

For further inquiries, individuals can reach out to SASSA through the following channels:

SASSA Toll-Free Call Centre: 0800 60 10 11

SASSA Head Office: 012 400 2322

Email: Grantsenquiries@sassa.gov.za

SASSA Offices: Contact details available for offices across the country.

Read More